ILA 5

screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-7-22-34-pm

 

  1. The first thing I noticed in this graph is that it points to the future of meat consumption. The per capita meat consumption drastically increases from 2015 to 2016. This is interesting that they can predict this far into the future. The colors stand out and it shows the difference between the two meats.
  2. The idea being conveyed is that the meat consumption drastically increased for both animals but it is even more drastic for beef. This shows that beef is being consumed most in the coming years. 
  3. I wish they did more than one bar graph for the span of 10 year. This seems like it is being too grouped. I feel like they should either have a bar for every year or every two years because one year could have been the drastic change.
  4. I would make a higher range of numbers because the way the numbers are arranged it makes the graph look more drastically different than it actually is. I would add a bar for every year instead of the span of 5 years. I would also add chicken to the graph because I feel like that is an important meat to US agriculture and meat production.

 

screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-7-34-09-pm

  1. I think this graph is interestingly made. I noticed how they combined the bar graphs to one graph. I noticed the color usage and the fact that they split up the different regions of the US.
  2. The idea that is being conveyed is that dryland field acreage is the most prevalent acreage in many regions of the country. This shows the lack of water/irrigated acreage in the US and shows our drought problem.
  3. I like how they split the different regions of the US to shows the acreage. That was an interesting way to do it. I like how they have the different colors for the different acreages but I don’t like the way the bar graph is set up with the colors on the same bar. It is confusing.
  4. I would make separate bars to make it easier to notice the differences between the dryland and irrigated acreages. I would also make the range of numbers higher to show that there isn’t as big of a difference as noticed in this graph.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-8-00-24-pm

For this graph, I decided to compare the different ages that people in the use develop eating disorders. The highest range is 16-20 years old at 43%. I used the different colors to accentuate the ages. I split them into the main ages, children, adolescents, teens, and adult. This shows that the teens/adolescents have the highest percentage for onset of eating disorders at their age. 

Leave a Reply

