ILA 10

Original infographic:

new-piktochart_172_c21e13878dea126e206cccf8177c49623317f565.png

Revision:

new-infographic_17809126_d8a054b624904e5fb4eb1e7aff3ddd6583ff4e3b.png

The strengths of my first graphic is that it includes more information regarding dental decay, fruit juices, as well as my take on the issue. Another strength of this infographic is that I included a small icon of a tooth with juice which will give the reader an idea of what my graphic is about; especially if they are visual learner. The two bar graphs in my first graphic show the percent of sugar in fruit juices. One chart shows the percent of sugar in fruit juices with added sugar and the other chart represents the percent of sugar in no added sugar fruit juices. The reader’s attention will first be drawn to the graphs because they are bright in color and stand out against the words on the top.

The revision of my first infographic contains the same data in the form of two bar graphs. However, instead of a vertical bar graph, I made a horizontal bar graph. In addition, a legend was added to color code each fruit juice. The strengths of the graphic is that it is color coded, includes some small background information about fruit juices and dental decay in the bottom left hand corner, and its simplicity overall. My better graphic overall, in my opinion, is the first infographic because I feel like the charts are easy to read instead of having to go back to the legend each time to determine which fruit juice is which. Also, I prefer the first graphic because it includes more background information as well as my claim on the topic.

New Graphic:

thumbnail_new-infographic_17852372_ac3be737688ae015477392612eace12f01306de5.jpg

In this graphic, there are two graphs representing the total of dental visits. One graph for 2 years old and over and another showing specifically 2-17 years old. I chose to do line graphs for two different reasons. The first reason is because I have not created a graphic using a line graph yet and the second reason is because I am representing a change over time. The graphs both show an increase in dental visits over the years of 1997 to 2014. This graphic might be a strong rhetorical element in my essay because my essay focuses primarily on children which both charts do. In addition, I want to convey to my readers why dental visits are increasing over the years. This is because diet and nutrition have been ignored which has affected the oral health of many children. Keeping this in mind, children are developing cavities and therefore have to visit the dentist to get treatment which is why there is an increasing trend of dental visits in both line graphs.

2 responses to “ILA 10

  1. Your infographics are very interesting. I like that they are eye-catching and seem fun. It seems kind of strange to me that the “no sugar added” drinks seem to have just as much sugar as the “sugar added”???

    Like

Leave a Reply

