ILA 5

Graph 1:

  1. The first thing that I notice about this chart is the colorful, structured lines.
  2. The first idea that forms in my head can only come to me after I look at the key to identify what the lines are describing. Then I notice that lower income families depend more on school food and spend less at fast food places compared to families of high incomes.
  3. I like that the graph is colorful. However, I don’t like that along the x axis the values are not evenly spread out.
  4. Three things I would change about this graph are: Make the x axis values evenly spread out to give a more accurate representation on the graph. Also, I do not like that every colored line also has a corresponding shape. I would rather it just be kept simple, with only a color. Finally, I would change the age range to 5-19 because right now it is 2-19 and not all of those kids are in school.

Graph 2:

  1. The first thing I notice about this chart is the big bars of color.
  2. The first idea that forms in my head about this graph is how simple it is and how easy to read it is. Also, SNAP participants are the least concerned with their diets/figure as they have the highest numbers of people saying that there is no reason to change their diets and that some people are meant to be fat and some are meant to be thin.
  3. I like that the graph is simple and colorful. However, I wish I knew if the data along the y axis, ‘the share of respondents who…’ is a percentage of people or an actual number.
  4. Three things I would change about this graph are: Change the labels to better explain what is being represented. Also I would add another category along the axis, just to provide more data. Finally, they explain what categorizes a higher income participant but do not explain an income eligible participant, so I would also explain that.

My Graph:9

 

This graph represents the Calories from Fast Food Consumed by American Children Ages 2-19. It was easy to select this data because I visited the CDC website and they had the data already compiled for me. I created a bar graph because I think it is easy to understand. Also, I think it represents the fact that there are a lot of children that do not consume fast food calories every day. However, the total percent of children who consume any amount of fast food calories is 34.4%, about half of no fast food calories consumed.

(The labels along the x-axis are cut off but they say “less than 25% of calories from fast food, 25%-40% of calories from Fast food, More than 40% of calories from fast food, and total of children consuming calories from fast food.”)

 

 

3 responses to “ILA 5

Leave a Reply

