Blog Post 5

After reading this article, I am quite persuaded that long-term benefits of handwriting are significant. Growing up, I was taught by not only my parents but in school as well the importance of writing by hand all throughout elementary school. I still remember in fourth grade when we spent a half hour or so each day practicing our handwriting, specifically writing in cursive, because we were told that in middle school and high school we would be required to write strictly only in cursive. Due to my personal learning experience, I was shocked to read from the article that most states have adopted standards of only teaching legible writing to those in kindergarten and first grade. I may have been among the last generation to have been taught to write in cursive which is crazy to me. In fourth grade we begun typing classes as well but we didn’t stop practicing our handwriting. The research presented in the article about a study that showed kids expressed more ideas when writing by hand as opposed to typing it on a keyboard is what really persuaded me. It is important for educators to support writing by hand if it provokes and stimulates a child’s brain to generate more ideas and creativity rather than supporting typing on a keyboard so early on due to our technological advancements in the last decade or so. Also, what happens when a child can only recognize a certain form of a letter such as this “a” that I am typing. The article brings up the fact that we must learn to decipher a letter no matter how it is written. I am persuaded to change my notetaking behavior as this article has provoked a thought in my head that when I type I almost mindlessly type because over the years I have come to memorize the placement of letters and can see the text and regurgitate it onto a word document. When I am writing by hand I find myself rewording things to shorten what is trying to be understood as well as changing what I’m writing as I’m writing because new ideas pop into my head.

I would use this article in a research paper. If the purpose of my paper was to argue that long term handwriting is important for children, the article would help establish my own credibility through its research presented in the article that were conducted by psychologists from renowned universities. The article would be very relevant as it is also exactly what the author is trying to argue, that long term handwriting is important and should not fade away. The article is written on a level where an audience such as myself, one who is not extremely familiar with the psychological development of children, was able to understand the point the author was trying to get across but at the same time sounded educated and well knowledgeable about the topic as well. Credentials of the author include bringing up psychologists like Stanislas Dehaene from College de France, Karin James from Indian University, Virginia Berninger from University of Washington, Pam Mueller from Princeton, Daniel Oppenheimer from UCLA, and Paul Bloom from Yale. The vast use of these psychologists from all wonderful universities around the world indicate the author’s knowledge in the field. This article was written fairly recently, in 2014, proving to be more useful for a research paper as the information is more up to date. The article does not provide a bibliography but I find the information to be complete due to all the research the author cites. It also states that Maria Knnikova, the author is a writer for not only The New Yorker online but as well as the author of a book which leads me to believe that the information she presents is accurate. Her stance is very clear in that she believes we must continue to teach and encourage handwriting. She presents clear research and facts and then evaluates them to help the audience understand why this supports her stance.

Leave a Reply

