Blog Post #5

In the article “What’s lost when handwriting fades” by Maria Konnikova, she argues that with handwriting fading, while being replaced by typing, etc. it is not allowing children specifically to learn as well and be as creative. In which I completely agree with her, Konnikova says with handwriting children “also remain better able to generate ideas and retain information”. I have experienced this first hand with note taking; yes, it is quicker to type notes and is far more easy and efficient but the information doesn’t “stick” like it does when I hand write notes. Like Konnikova mentions, that handwriting information activates more parts of the brain than writing on the keyboard. It is hard to explain, but there is no doubt I retain information at least 10 times better when I handwrite, but since most humans now look for the easiest and simplistic way to do things. Handwriting is being thrown out of the window and being placed by typing because it is so much quicker. I can attest even though I already said handwriting allows me to learn information way better, I am human. So unfortunately I usually end up typing notes. 

            Using the Everyday Writer by Andrea Lunsford, and specifically looking at the tab of evaluate a source’s usefulness and credibility. I would use Konnikova’s article in a research paper, if my topic was about handwriting and how it correlates to better learning this article would be a great source to use. Also this articles publisher has great credentials, Konnikov’a article was posted by the New York Times, in my opinion the most well-known newspaper in the U.S, she also uses sources from studies done by a well-known psychologist at the University of Indiana. Konnikova makes a great argument for handwriting and how it has intellectual benefits, I would absolutely use it in a research paper.

Leave a Reply

