Is Google Making Us Stupid?

In Nicholas Carr’s article he first talks about how his own personal internet use has made it harder for him to read normally, I had a connection to this because I’ve been thinking the same thing. It’s been more than three years since I’ve actually started and finished a book. Even in reading the article I found it hard to concentrate, it wasn’t impossible but I do think the more time spent on the internet does affect our ability to pay attention and how easy it is to become distracted. This article made me want to start a new book just so I can prove to myself that I’m not so affected by the internet.

Near the end of the article Carr also says “Still, their easy assumption that we’d all ‘be better off’ if our brains were supplemented, or even replaced, by an artificial intelligence is unsettling.” I think this is stupid. Why would you replace or supplement your brain with an artificial intelligence? That would be unfair to the artificial intelligence, I wouldn’t want to share the same think pan as someone else. The idea of supplementing our brains with technology is a great idea though, the idea of being able to recall any bit of information sounds amazing. So sign me up for a Ghost in the Shell style cyber brain please.

Leave a Reply

