ILA #3

1. http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/download?doi=10.1.1.196.6830&rep=rep1&type=pdf  Citeseerx.ist.psu.edu                                                                                                                                 The paper that I retrieved from this site will aid my research paper in a big way. Part of my paper discusses the financial impact that food recalls have on food companies. This paper analyzes the financial impact that these food recalls caused their parent companies through stocks. It is a credible source to use because both authors are employed at Texas A&M University and was also presented at the first annual meeting of the national alliance of food safety in Washington D.C.

2.  ScienceDirect.com                                                                                                                                 This study will aid my paper in understanding different types of food recalls. By way of my research, I am understanding that there are different types of food recalls other than bacterial contamination. There are also food recalls because of allergen contamination. I am all too familiar with this study because I myself am allergic to tree nuts in their entirety. I personally know the potential deadly affects that this kind of food recall from having experienced anaphylaxis a few times. The study is credible because all of the authors are either medical doctors or have obtained doctoral degrees. I feel this is also a credible source because it is found in The Journal of Allergy and Immunology.

3. Ageconsearch.umn.edu                                                                                                                            This paper analyzes the impact on public food safety perceptions by way of a nationwide spinach recall in 2006. I feel that this paper can aid in my research because it goes a bit beyond financial and social implications of food recalls. It goes as far as explaining the implications that food recalls have on our laws. I feel that this paper takes a food recall to its logical conclusion. That conclusion being changes in food policy because of the recall so that it won’t happen again. This paper appears to be credible because it was written and published within North Dakota State University.

Leave a Reply

